APNIC EC File Note

Record of Electronic Vote Thursday, 4 March 2010

Record of EC Decision made on 4 March 2010

Acceptance of Proxies

On 4 March 2010, the EC was informed that a member of APNIC had attempted to lodge a number of proxy forms with duly delegated APNIC staff, several hours after the announced deadline for the lodging of proxy forms. APNIC staff rejected the proxy nominations, as they fell outside of the deadline for lodgement, as advised to the membership in previous announcements. The member concerned lodged an objection to the rejection of their proxy nominations with the APNIC Director General, requesting that the proxies be accepted, and explaining a misinterpretation of the proxy deadline announcement.

The EC noted the provision of the By-Laws which states:

21. The instrument appointing a proxy shall be produced in person or by verifiable electronic means to any member of the Executive Council or the Director General, or at the principle place of business of the corporation, 48 hours before the time for holding the meeting at which the person named in such instrument proposes to vote.

The EC also noted the notice for the lodgement of proxies for APNIC 29, which stated:

Proxy voting

Only Corporate Contacts can appoint a proxy to vote at the meeting. Any person may be authorized as a proxy for an APNIC Member by the Member's Corporate Contact.

Proxy voting closes on 3 March 2010 at 09:00 UTC+8 (KL time)

The EC noted that only one objection was received, and that only one member organisation appeared to have misunderstood the deadline as announced. The EC further noted that the total number of otherwise valid votes involved was approximately 46, being the votes of 6 members.

The EC reviewed the staff decision to reject the proxies lodged after 3 March 2010 09:00 UTC+8.

Using the electronic vote procedure, the EC confirmed the decision to reject all proxies lodged after 3 March 2010 9:00 UTC+8. The Executive Secretary recorded 4 votes in favour of this decision, and 4 abstentions. The following EC members abstained from the vote: Akinori Maemura, Che-Hoo Cheng, Ma Yan, and Paul Wilson.

APNIC EC File Note Page 1/1